Schaefer Named as OHL Humanitarian of the Year Nominee

Ontario Hockey League


Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League announced that defenceman Garrett McFadden of the Guelph Storm is the 2017-18 recipient of the Dan Snyder Memorial Trophy awarded annually to the OHL’s Humanitarian of the Year.

McFadden becomes the league’s first two-time award recipient winning for a second straight season with the continuation of his program ‘McFadden’s Movement’ in support of youth mental health awareness.  The initiative took new heights in 2017-18 with the introduction of an Ambassadors Program along with fundraising efforts that totaled $20,000 to local mental health resources.

For more information you can follow @McFaddensMvmnt or visit to support the cause.

Each year the OHL awards a player that has demonstrated outstanding qualities as a positive role model in the community with the Dan Snyder Memorial Trophy.  The Ontario Hockey League Board of Governors announced in 2004 that the OHL Humanitarian of the Year award would be renamed in recognition of the former Owen Sound Platers captain, who was twice named his team’s Humanitarian of the Year in recognition of his tremendous efforts in supporting community activities.

This year, veteran on the ice, Johnathon Schaefer, became a true leader in our community. While making many community appearances throughout the season, Johnathon exemplified the characteristics our organization stands for and showed true respect in every situation. We were so proud to have him be our representative nominee for this award.

2017-18 Dan Snyder Memorial Trophy Nominees:
Barrie Colts – Justin Murray
Erie Otters – Aidan Timmermans
Flint Firebirds – C.J Clarke
Guelph Storm – Garrett McFadden*
Hamilton Bulldogs – Jack Hanley*
Kingston Frontenacs – Liam Murray*
Kitchener Rangers – Joseph Garreffa
London Knights – Alex Turko
Mississauga Steelheads – Emanuel Vella
Niagara IceDogs – Johnathon Schaefer
North Bay Battalion – Patrick Brown
Oshawa Generals – Jack Studnicka*
Ottawa 67’s – Noel Hoefenmayer
Owen Sound Attack – Ethan Szypula
Peterborough Petes – Dylan Wells
Saginaw Spirit – Evan Cormier
Sarnia Sting – Nick Grima*
Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds – Jack Kopacka
Sudbury Wolves – Owen Gilhula
Windsor Spitfires – Michael DiPietro*
*repeat nominee

More News
Tomasino named to Canadian U18 Team
1 day ago
To our Fans
2 days ago
HIGHLIGHTS | Niagara IceDogs (2) @ Oshawa Generals (3) Game 6 -
2 days ago
Ivan Lodnia Named OHL's 2nd Star - April 15, 2019
2 days ago
GAME RECAP | IceDogs fall 3-2 to Generals in Game 6
3 days ago
HIGHLIGHTS | Niagara IceDogs (1) vs Oshawa Generals (3) Game 5 - April 13th, 2019
3 days ago