Team History 2010-11

2010-11 Season

68 GP – 45 W – 17 L – 2 OTL – 4 SOL

2nd in the Central Division – 3rd in the Eastern Conference

Back Row: Billy Jenkins, Jesse Graham, Milan Doudera, Joel Wigle, Shayne Rover, Pete Dobbin (Athletic Therapist), Tim Billingsley, Mitchell Theoret, Ryan Strome, Luke Mercer, Myles Doan

Middle Row: Rick Martin (Video Analyst), David Frizzell (Executive VP), Victor Terreri, Jason Wilson, Darren Archibald, Nik Knezic, Dougie Hamilton, Mike Schwindt, Steven Shipley, Simon Gronvaldt, David Pacan, Ben Vanderklok (Goaltender Coach), Garry Buxton (Equipment Manager)

Front Row: Dalton McGrath, Joey Burke (Assistant General Manager), Marty Williamson (General Manager and Head Coach), Freddie Hamilton, Andrew Agozzino, Bill Burke (Governor), Denise Burke (President), Alex Friesen, Johnson Andrews, Mike Van Ryn (Assistant Coach), Billy Burke (Assistant Coach), Mark Visentin

Year In Review:

The 2010/2011 season was a successful year for the Niagara IceDogs, especially for one of the youngest teams in the league. The team was strong and successfully pushed for an early spot in the playoffs. This could not have been done without the goaltending by Mark Visentin who was also named goaltender for the 2011 Canadian World Junior team and OHL Goaltender of the Year. IceDog sophomore forward Ryan Strome continued his success with the team by leading overall in points and finished third in league scoring.

The IceDogs swept the Brampton Battalion in the first round of the OHL playoffs.  They followed the sweep by defeating the Oshawa Generals in the Eastern Conference Semi-Finals with a 4-1 series victory.  For the first time since arriving in Niagara the IceDogs advanced to the Conference Finals and took on the Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors. It was an exciting series for the IceDogs, having sold out crowds and the chance to advance to the OHL Championship series. Unfortunately the Majors eliminated the IceDogs take the series 4-1.

The IceDogs finished 2nd in the Central Division and 3rd in the Eastern Conference. The IceDogs plan to return stronger than ever with the goal of competing for the 2012 OHL Championship.


Goals – Andrew Agozzino (43)

Assists – Ryan Strome (73)

Points – Ryan Strome (106)

GAA – Mark Vistentin (2.52)