Niagara IceDogs to select 2nd overall in 2020 OHL Priority Selection

The 2020 OHL Priority Selection, presented by the Real Canadian Superstore, on Saturday, April 4th, 2020 beginning at 9:00am. In 2001, the Ontario Hockey League conducted the annual Priority Selection process by way of the Internet for the first time in league history. The new process allowed for eligible players and their families, as well as fans across the league to follow the process in real time online. You can follow the entire process online at

The Niagara IceDogs will be selecting 2nd overall. This selection will be the highest in Niagara IceDogs franchise history. Previously, the IceDogs’ highest selection was 5th overall, in 2017, when the team drafted Phil Tomasino.

Four players drafted in the 2019 OHL Draft played for the IceDogs in the 2019-20 season; Isaac Enright, Landon Cato, Anthony Agostinelli, and Josh Rosenzweig.

Niagara IceDogs General Manager Joey Burke, and Assistant General Manager Brandon Currie will be joined by scouting staff for the most important event of their season.

Niagara IceDogs Scouting Staff

Roger MacLeod Director, Scouting
Matt Milne SCTA/Goaltending
Kenny Fleck Ottawa Region
Tim MacLean GTA
Vince Tarantino ETA
Brent Tomlinson Northern Ontario
Rob Hubbert GOJHL


For additional information regarding Niagara IceDogs draft history, the Education accommodations provided by the team, the Meridian Centre, and the Niagara Region, please click here.

The 2020 OHL Priority Selection Order of Selection will be as follows:

Final OHL regular season standings for the purpose of the OHL Priority Selection order are based off each OHL team having played an equal number of regular season games (61 games)

1. North Bay Battalion – 38 pts.
2. Niagara IceDogs – 42 pts.
3. Sarnia Sting – 48 pts.
4. Soo Greyhounds – 56 pts.
5. Kingston Frontenacs – 42 pts.
6. Hamilton Bulldogs – 56 pts.
7. Mississauga Steelheads – 59 pts.
8. Erie Otters – 61 pts.
9. Barrie Colts 62 pts.
10. Owen Sound Attack – 68 pts.
11. Sudbury Wolves – 68 pts.
12. Guelph Storm – 72 pts.
13. Oshawa Generals – 73 pts.
14. Windsor Spitfires – 76 pts.
15. Peterborough Petes – 76 pts.
16. Flint Firebirds – 80 pts.
17. Kitchener Rangers – 83 pts.
18. Saginaw Spirit – 85 pts.
19. London Knights – 90 pts.
20. Ottawa 67’s – 99 pts.

Player Eligibility
North American players born in 2004 and non-overage players that were not carded with an Ontario based midget AAA team from protected OHL territories are eligible for selection in the 15 rounds of the 2019 OHL Priority Selection.

Selected Players in the OHL
OHL Member Teams are permitted to register a maximum of four 16-year-old players selected in the OHL Priority Selection. Those 16 year old players that are allowed to be signed are the first two 16-year-old players selected and a maximum of two additional 16-year-old wild carded players in any round of the OHL Priority Selection.

All other 16-year-old players selected are eligible to be called up as an “affiliated player” or “floating affiliate player” for a maximum of 10 games or for any OHL regular season or playoff games when such player’s team has been eliminated from competition for that season.

Order of Selection
The order of selection is determined by inverse order of finish during the past OHL regular season schedule of games with non-playoff teams selecting ahead of playoff teams.

Teams are permitted to trade draft choices, other than their first round selection, during the trading period from Monday March 30 to Friday April 3, 2020 at 3:00 p.m.

OHL Central Scouting
The Central Scouting Bureau of the Ontario Hockey League is an information service and support organization designed to provide the Member Teams with a reference in regards to the players available for selection in the annual “Priority Selection Process.”

The primary objective of OHL Central Scouting is to identify, rate and rank players to be eligible for the Priority Selection, according to their OHL potential. OHL Member Teams combine player data received from the Central Scouting Bureau with evaluations from their team scouting staffs to make their player selections.

The OHL Central Scouting Bureau has been evaluating players since the 1975-76 season.

OHL Central Scouting Staff
Chief Scout – Darrell Woodley
GTA – Tim Cherry
Central Ontario – John Finlay
Western Ontario – James Kennedy
Northern Ontario – Doug Bonhomme
Ottawa and District – Blake Callaghan
Golden Horseshoe – Dan Wood
Michigan – Kevin Hess
PA/NY/NJ – Joshua Romano
Goaltenders – David Belitski

More News
Niagara IceDogs Select Pano Fimis 2nd Overall in 2020 OHL Priority Selection
5 hours ago
Looking forward to the 2020 OHL Draft
2 days ago
Mason Howard Ranked in 2019-20 OHL Coaches Poll Winners
1 week ago
2020 Graduating Class: Niagara IceDogs
1 week ago
Statement: CHL Cancels 2020 Playoffs and Memorial Cup
2 weeks ago
Messages from Ivan Lodnia, Elijah Roberts, and Oliver Castleman
2 weeks ago